We use cookies on our website to ensure you get the best browsing experience. Learn more
Back to

Keeping our communities safe

Traffic light levels

On 3 December 2021 New Zealand moved to the Government’s new Covid-19 protection framework - the ‘traffic light system’.

COVID-19 protection framework - traffic light levels

The Government's traffic light system consists of three settings - green, orange and red. The key components of the traffic light system differ at each setting.

Life at red - Learn what to do

Life at orange - Learn what to do

Life at green - Learn what to do

The Unite against COVD-19 website provides more information on the framework and the traffic light setting for where you live.

Traffic light regional map